The CVF is a group of nation states represented by their respective government leaders from around the world who act together on the concerns each share as a result of human-induced global climate change. Founded in 2009, the Forum currently numbers 48 developing country member states. The Forum is characterised as an open, inclusive, non-binding cooperation group that operates as a semi-formal platform and process with a scope that works in a variety of ways to reflect its concerns and views in appropriate global decision-making processes. This includes advocating and acting cooperatively in the context of key intergovernmental fora, the commissioning of research, the convening of experts, and engagement in online communications and other networking and outreach efforts to advance common CVF agenda.

The recognised aims of the Forum include, inter alia:

  1. agenda setting for highlighting concerns, issues and challenges faced by countries highly vulnerable to climate change;
  2. consensus building and position convergence;
  3. building trust among all stakeholders and breaking down divides;
  4. cooperative action in the context of intergovernmental fora;
  5. collective awareness raising;
  6. sharing good practices on adaptation, mitigation, sustainable development, financing, governance, low emissions economic development, and other important fields linked to
  7. climate change policy;
  8. contributing to a truly effective, inclusive and responsible global climate changegovernance regime.

For further information visit


CVF Members

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Costa Rica
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Lucia
  • Samoa
  • Senegal
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tunisia
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen